Putting some POW! in the powder room

The toilet room is where I get my best thinking done.

Okay, that’s not true. I get my best thinking done in bed when I should be sleeping. But the toilet room is where I’ve had my latest and greatest idea.

powder room

The toilet room is the only room where the walls are sort of normal. Not covered in wallpaper. Not tiled to the ceiling. Half of the wall is a wonderful blank canvas, albeit a popcorn-covered canvas. Ha! YOU THOUGHT I HAD A NORMAL WALL! Not so!

So I was looking at some of my favorite powder rooms and noticed they were all covered in black and white graphic wallpaper. Such a bold statement in such a small room! It packs such a punch!

Black and white powder room

Bam!

Black & white powder room

Pow!

Hinson's fireworks wallpaper

Ka-blammy!

But all of those inspiration pictures use wallpaper. And as much as I’d love to drop a couple hundred euros to make my powder room go BOOM! when you open the door, I’ve got that popcorn situation going on, remember?

So then I remembered a project I’ve been working off and on for awhile, which was basically copying the idea behind this art but using some of our inside jokes in place of rap lyrics:

Rap lyric art

(I can’t find the original source for that picture, so if you know whose genius idea this is please let me know so I can give credit where it’s due.)

I thought, hey, that’s black and white and graphic. And printing some sheets of paper would be way cheaper than wallpaper. Plus, this way I could use frames and create something of a gallery with it.

So what I’m really saying is stay tuned because that is so happening soon.

(Images link to original source where I could find it. All images can be found on my Pinterest board.)

4 Comments on “Putting some POW! in the powder room”

  1. Alison says:

    I love the dog wallpaper! I feel your pain with the popcorn walls, though. I hate them, but that’s all we’ve got, except for the bathroom, which is solid tile. Actually, our top floor isn’t popcorned or tiled (just small and heavily sloped), but maybe I could freehand some dogs on one of the walls! Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Jennifer says:

      So weird the popcorn, right?! I read that builders use it because it helps to muffle sounds… maybe that’s why they put it in my toilet room! Ha! I will be checking your blog hoping to see some stenciled dog wall pictures!

  2. Lisa says:

    Such a simple fix that made a big difference on the toilet paper roll holder! And I love the eclectic mix of your living room furnishings, and the graphic typography you have planned for the bathroom wall. Keeping with the rap theme, and after reading your “about us” blurb with you and Rolan asking each other what words mean, you could have one say, “You know what I’m sayin’?” Lol! Good luck on painting that wallpaper! I’m sure it will look great!

    • Jennifer says:

      Lisa: a lot of the inside jokes we have stem from one of us misunderstanding the other because of the whole English-as-a-second-language thing. Like when I told Rolan he had a twitch on his face and he didn’t know what a twitch was, so he assumed it was a bug or something screaming “Get it off of me!” I laughed so hard I think I snorted. 🙂


Leave a Reply

