Give me a break

These days, with money being so tight, it gets easy to beat myself up about what we can’t yet afford to do around the apartment.

But today when I woke up I heard my brain telling me to relax.

So I listened. And I realized…

It’s okay that the couch is a little dirty in spots. It was free and it is holding up well to Ludovico’s talon claws.

It’s also his favorite place for daily cat naps, which are a much-appreciated break from the norm of “No! Stop! Ouch! That’s my leg!”

It’s also okay that the hand-me-down bench we received from Rolan’s uncle is upholstered in a dark red and black damask.

Because, as it happens, the Ikea Ofelia throw that Rolan’s mother gifted me makes a pretty nice little slipcover for the time being.

Not perfect, but it’s fine for now!

Also not perfect is our clothes storage situation in the bedroom. But that’s okay because we have beautiful dark blue curtains we found on clearance that were lovingly sewn together by Rolan’s mother and hemmed to the right height by yours truly.

And even though I will probably kill them soon, I am enjoying the fresh herbs we have growing in our kitchen.

There is so much possibility in this apartment. I simultaneously can and can’t wait to see what comes of it.

4 Comments on “Give me a break”

  1. Alison says:

    I think the longer you live with a place half-furnished, the clearer your ultimate vision can become as you get to know the home in different lights and weather. Continued success with it!

    • Jennifer says:

      Precies! That is what I am thinking too. Normally I am an impatient person so this has become an exercise in “good things come to those who wait.”

  2. […] Find & hang curtains […]

  3. […] did make a couple of big changes this month. They were just ridiculously cheap! We added a bunch of hand-me-down furniture to our living […]


Leave a Reply

