Een

Hallo to the Nederlanders! Hello to the Americans!

We are so excited (and beyond ready) to start transforming our sweet little apartment into the home we know it can be, but we also want our friends and family to be in on the action.

Since some of you are — ahem — on another continent (mom, dad, entire family!), that might prove a tad difficult. But not to worry! We will be chronicling all our steps (and inevitable missteps) right here on this little blogaroo.

So please bookmark this site (or our RSS feed if you’re savvy like that) and let us know you’re reading!

3 Comments on “Een”

  1. Emily says:

    Hi Jennifer! I just saw your comment over on HausMaus and wanted to come say hi! I’m also an American living abroad (almost) in the Netherlands… I’m just over the border in Belgium (near Maastricht). How cool that you’re making a life for yourself over on this side of the world! How are you liking it so far? I’ve been here for five years now and I love it! 🙂 I keep up a blog (www.fleuropean.com) full of my hobbies (gardening, traveling, cooking, etc. I also originally started it for my family and friends- to keep them up to date re: all our activities over here. Have fun! 🙂

    • Jennifer says:

      Emily: So glad you popped over to say hello! I really enjoyed looking through your site and will add it to my list of expat blogs.

      I am really enjoying living here in The Netherlands. Of course, expat life doesn’t come without its fair share of challenges and I still (maybe always will) refer to America as “back home”. But at the end of the day I am so happy to be here, relishing this new country, culture and all the change that comes with it.

      We actually paid a visit to Antwerp about a month ago. What a BEAUTIFUL city! And the chocolate, waffles and beer definitely lived up to my expectations! I know that’s not near you, but that’s the only Belgium I’ve done so far. You’re in a prime location, though… basically on the border of three countries. Maybe someday I will get down there to “The South” as Rolan calls it. And I’ll be hoping to find one of your lonely bouquets! 🙂

      • Emily says:

        Haha! “The South”! I love it how the Dutch have their own little regional stereotypes 😉 America is “back home” for me too, but I most definitely have that feeling here when we come back from a trip and the last 20 minutes of the car ride really fee like “yay! we’re home!”. If you love beer and waffles, our little Belgian village has a lot to offer. A glass of Val Dieu beer and a “suikerwafel” are all you need to put a smile on your face and make your tummy very happy. If you make it down here, let me know! I can tour you around Maastricht and show you the ways of “the South” 😛


Leave a Reply

